Self – portraits

Ok, I must admit that I’ve been neglecting my readers for the last few days. Two reasons:

1) Preparations for Christmas took a lot of my time

2) I became dismotivated a bit

But now, as Christmas is over (phew!) and I don’t have to go to work until January, I promise to write something more.

Let’s talk about self-portraits. Have you ever tried taking a photo of yourself? (And I don’t mean holding your mobile phone camera in front of your bathroom mirror 😉 ). I did.

I must admit that taking self-portraits is not an easy task. To me the main difficulty was my mind as I do not enjoy looking at myself in photos. Then came the technical problems. So what do you need to take a self portrait?

1) A camera 🙂

2) A model (meaning you).

3) A tripod

4) A remote control to your camera (as far as I’m concerned all reflex cameras work with remote controls). It’s not a very compliated device as it only has one button, the one that launches your shutter.

5) Good light

Now place your camera on a tripod, turn the remote control function on, sit (or stand) in front of your camera. Try not to move and look directly into your lens (Lucky enough you will see the AF field in it). Press the button and VOILLA.

Check out my results:

podwiatr by podwiatr

podwiatr by podwiatr

half of me, by podwiatr

podwiatr by podwiatr

podwiatr by podwiatr

podwiatr by podwiatr

podwiatr by podwiatr

 

podwiatr by podwiatr

7 thoughts on “Self – portraits

Leave a Reply

