Beginnings

“Even the longest journey starts with a single step”

And how did my photography journey begin? With a SONY DSC-H3, a regular compact camera. Here are the photos I took with it a couple of years ago:

SONY DSC-H3, photo by podwiatr

SONY DSC-H3, photo by podwiatr

SONY DSC-H3, photo by podwiatr

SONY DSC-H3, Park Kasprowicza in Szczecin, photo by podwiatr

As you can see, the beginnings were tough, I was dreaming about getting the effect of small DOF (or shallow focus) then…

Then I switched into a reflex camera, completed a basic course in photography and started experimenting driving everyone mad :D. So what equipment do I have right now?

A Nikon D80 digital reflex camera

Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 kit lens (hardly ever in use right now, as I fell in love with 50mm lens)

Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 lens (amazing colours and sharpness at f/2.8)

Pancolar Carl Zeiss 50mm f/1.8 lens (a gift from the Santa, a manual one, I still lack an adapter to it :/ …but just wait till I get one (!) 😀 The bokeh I’m gonna get is worth waiting )

I am also equipped with some additional stuff, such as a Nikon SB-600 speedlight (+ a mini softbox to it), a SLIK SH-705E tripod, a Hama polarizing filter, a remote control and a 5-surface portable folding reflector. I chose each of the items very carefully and I wasn’t disappointed in any of the cases.

As you can see it sometimes pays to be patient and learn hard…and to strat taking the first step 🙂

Leave a Reply

