On Beauty

Project Day #1          Projekt Dzień Pierwszy

English: I was raised in the cult of beauty. But with beauty there is one small problem – only those who have it may feel happy with it. You cannot work it, you canot make it, you cannot buy it or have it in any other way than to be born with it. I may certainly say that when others stood in a queue to get beauty I was making my way to the perversity and rebel stand.

This is the only reason why I didn’t acquire some eating or mental disorders. Oh no – I’m not totally free from them. Every day I joke about my looks – my figure, complexion, teeth. Deep inside it’s not all that funny, when I struggle to take a look in the mirror. Grzegorz Ciechowski used to sing “Yes, yes, the one in the mirror is unfortunately me” – I feel it every single day. From some time I am obsessed with what I eat, I hardly ever leave home without a scarf, weraing no make-up at all I won’t even go to empty the rubbish bin, I do sports all the time – my beloved salsa, rollerskating, cycling, Nordic Walking, running, Tabata or training with Chodakowska at home…everything what’s possible. Why? Because I hate to look at myself. Because I’m disgussed with myself. Because I want to be up to it, I want to match up, to proove it to myself that I am able to, that I can. That I’m worth of something, that I make sense. It’s as if my looks determined who I am.

Paradoxically, I refuse to accept such attitude in others. If someone looks bad – he or she will never hear it from me. I go into raptures with a ruffled hair strand, I often say “God, you look good” or “You’ve lost weight”. It’s not because I want to flatter people. If I don’t think they look good – I simply say nothing. Well, I can see the beauty within. I really really am amazed with those who have their souls painted on their faces. Not with classical beauties, not with all those artificial nails, not lip gloss.

I used to teach English in a schol for adults. We had those funny glass walls you could look through and not very numerous groups of students. It happened once, that I already started my lecture, when I saw a girl who was late for my lesson. Believe it or not – I was speechless. That girl was freshly back from a sailing camp. No make-up at all, late as she was she had her hair in a mess, her skin was red due to a very fresh tan. She was so beautiful in all her mess, that I just had to stop and stare. She wasn’t beautiful in the classical way – just a freckled blondie with a snub nose, but she had some sort of a magical light in her and I can assure you that I had never seen anythng more beautiful than this girl.

Why am I touching the beauty issue? Because it clssifies, puts people into some sort of pigeon holes, because I hate it when somebody says “ugly” about others, because – unfortunately, my dears – I undergo the pressure of beaing beautiful. Becuse I refuse to undergo the pressure, but there is no way I can find to resist it.Because I refuse to the fact that people get categorized by the way they look.

Because it is not about being beautiful. Because you sometimes get to love ugly people, and for you – they are the prettiest on earth. Because the deeper the knowing of that other person, the greater the love you feel. Because a beautiful bowl won’t fight your hunger when it’s empty. Because if a person can put sense to every minute of a lifetime just with the way they are,  it really doesn’t matter if their eyes are blue or brown. What matters is to read honesty and devotion in them. To read “I’m yours”.

And one more thing – no one is born with feeling ugly. It’s acquired.

Polish: Zostałam wychowana w kulcie piękna. Z pięknem jest ten jeden mały problem, że cieszyć się nim może tylko ten kto je ma. Nie da się wypracować, nie da się zrobić, nie da się kupić ani mieć jeśli nie zadecyduje się na naszą korzyść jeszcze zanim przyjdziemy na świat. Z całą pewnością gdy inni stali w kolejce po urodę, ja przepychałam się łokciami do stoiska z przekorą i buntem.

I powiem tak – tylko to jedno uchroniło mnie od zaburzeń. Nie, nie – nie powiem, że ich wcale nie ma. Na co dzień można ode mnie posłuchać żarcików na temat własnej urody – figury, cery, włosów, zębów. W środku, pod pancerzem nie jest tak wesoło, kiedy zmagam się co rano, by spojrzeć w lustro. Ciechowski śpiewał “Tak, tak, tam w lustrze to niestety ja” – mam to co dnia. Od pewnego czasu obsesyjnie pilnuję tego co jem, prawie nigdy nie wychodzę z domu bez szala czy chusty, bez makijażu nie wyjdę nawet wyrzucić śmieci, nieustannie uprawiam jakieś sporty – ukochana salsa, rolki, rower, Nordic Walking, bieganie, tabata w domu, Chodakowska….wszystko. Po co? Bo nie lubię swojego widoku. Bo odstręcza mnie moja osoba. Bo chcę sprostać, dorównać, udowodnić sobie że mogę i umiem. Że jestem coś warta, że coś znaczę. Tak jakby uroda determinowała kim jestem.

Paradoksalnie – nie godzę się na taką postawę u innych. Jeśli ktoś wygląda źle – nigdy nie usłyszy tego ode mnie. Wpadam w zachwyt nad potarganym kosmykiem włosów, często mówię “Boże, jak pięknie wyglądasz”, czy “schudłaś”. Nie dlatego że chcę się przypodobać. Jeśli tak nie uważam – nie mówię nic. Ja widzę piękno wewnątrz. Mnie naprawdę, naprawdę zachwycają osoby którym dusza maluje się na twarzach. Nie klasyczne piękności, nie przyklejone paznokcie, nie błyszczyk na ustach.

Kiedyś uczyłam angielskiego w szkole dla dorosłych. Zajęcia odbywały się w małych grupach, w oszklonych salach. Razu pewnego wykładałam już, gdy zauważyłam w korytarzu dziewczynę spóźnioną na moje zajęcia. Wierzcie mi lub nie – oniemiałam. Dziewczyna dopiero wróciła z żagli. Zero makijażu, spóźniona to i ciut potargana, skóra zaczerwieniona świeżą opalenizną. Była tak piękna w tym swoim nieładzie, że przez moment musiałam zawiesić głos i po prostu patrzeć. Wcale nie była klasycznie piękna, ot piegowaty ciut blondasek z zadartym noskiem, ale biło od niej takie światło, że z pełnym przekonaniem mogę napisać, że w życiu nie widziałam niczego ładniejszego.

Dlaczego o pięknie? Bo szufladkuje, bo nienawidzę gdy ktoś mówi o kimś “brzydki”, bo niestety mili Państwo – ulegam kultowi piękna co dnia i do piękna dążę. Bo nie chcę dążyć, a inaczej nie umiem. Bo nie godzę się na to, żeby człowieka determinowała skorupka.

To nie o to chodzi bowiem, by być ładnym. Bo nieraz pokocha się kogoś brzydkiego i jest to dla Ciebie najpiękniejszy człowiek świata. Bo “im głębsze poznanie tym większe ukochanie”. Bo z ładnej miski się nie najesz jeśli będzie pusta. Bo jeśli ktoś umie tym, jaki jest nadać sens każdej minucie dnia, to nieważne czy oczy ma niebieskie czy brązowe. Ważne jest w tych oczach widzieć szczerość i oddanie, wyczytać w nich “jestem Twój”.

I jeszcze jedno – nikt nie rodzi się z przekonaniem, że jest brzydki. To cecha nabyta.

Project, day #1

 

 

Leave a Reply

